The Magnolia

01.03.2016

Magnolia is a tree or a shrub with pink, white or cream flowers, mainly native of Asia and North America. The variety Magnolia Grandiflora is one of the most known varieties. In perfumery, it is the variety Michelia Alba which is used for its lemon freshness, its green notes followed by a soft and solar floral facet with vanilla accents.

Magnolia arrived in France more than 300 years ago. In 1711, René Darquistade, a French negotiator passionate about botany, brought back in France some vegetables in his ship coming from America. He got back a “laurel-tulip tree” that he decided to install in the orangery in his castle of Maillardière. For about twenty years, the tree was maintained in the greenhouse but has never bloomed. René Darquistade asked his gardener to cut down this shrub. His wife managed to convince him to plant it directly in the ground. Strangely, the tree began to grow and to bloom abundantly.

The name “Magnolia” was given in tribute to Pierre Magnol, renowned botanist of the end of the XVIIth century.

The harvest of Magnolia flowers is made from May until June and from August until November. Then, flowers are distilled to obtain the essential oil of Magnolia. We find the Magnolia in famous perfumes like L’Instant by Guerlain, L’Air by Nina Ricci, Magnolia Nobile by Acqua di Parma…

Iconic of spring, Magnolia expresses love of the nature and also symbolizes loyalty. It is carrying a positive message, marked by strength and joy.

Discover our candle “Magnolia Nuit” in limited edition in our shop or on our website (here). Let yourself be transported by the acidulous freshness of the Bergamot, mixed with the delicate scent of Magnolia and Jasmine. The bottom, with amber, sensual and warm accents already transport you in these first spring days.



NEWSLETTER

To keep abreast of our news

Secure payment

Delivery

Customer service

Le Magnolia

01.03.2016

Le Magnolia est un arbre ou arbuste aux fleurs roses, blanches ou crèmes, originaire principalement d’Asie et d’Amérique du Nord. La variété Magnolia Grandiflora est l’une des variétés les plus connues. En parfumerie, c’est la variété Michelia Alba qui est utilisée pour sa fraicheur citronnée, ses notes vertes suivies d’une facette florale douce et solaire aux accents vanillés.

Le Magnolia est arrivé en France il y a plus de 300 ans. En 1711, René Darquistade, négociateur français passionné de botanique, a ramené en France des végétaux dans son navire provenant d’Amérique. Il a récupéré un « laurier-tulipier » qu’il a décidé d’installer dans l’orangerie de son château de la Maillardière. Pendant une vingtaine d’année, l’arbre a été maintenu dans la serre mais n’a jamais réussi à fleurir. René Darquistade a donc demandé à son jardinier d’abattre cet arbuste. Sa femme a réussi à le convaincre de récupérer un plant de l’arbre et de le planter en pleine terre. Etonnamment, l’arbre s’est mis à grandir, à s’épanouir et à fleurir abondamment.

Le nom « Magnolia » lui aurait été donné en hommage à Pierre Magnol, botaniste de renom de la fin du  XVIIème siècle.

La cueillette des fleurs de Magnolia se fait de mai à juin et de août à novembre. Les fleurs sont ensuite distillées pour obtenir l‘huile essentielle de Magnolia. On retrouve le Magnolia dans de grands parfums comme L’Instant de Guerlain, L’Air de Nina Ricci, Magnolia Nobile d’Acqua di Parma…

Emblématique du printemps, le Magnolia exprime l’amour de la nature et symbolise aussi la fidélité. Il est porteur d’un message positif, empreint de force et de gaîté.

Venez découvrir notre bougie « Magnolia Nuit » en édition limitée dans notre boutique ou sur notre site internet (ici). Laissez-vous transporter par la fraîcheur acidulée de la Bergamote, mêlée au délicat parfum du Magnolia et du Jasmin. Le fond, aux accents ambrés, sensuels et chaleureux vous emporte déjà dans ces premiers jours printaniers.



NEWSLETTER

Pour toujours être au fait de nos actualités

Paiement sécurisé

Livraison

Service client